Seven Chakras

Indian yoga philosophy teaches about an energy system in the body called Chakras.

Chakras are seven organizing energy centers for the reception, assimilation, and transmission of life. They are located along the spine; from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. While there is focus on these seven energy centers we must remember there is energy found in every cell of our body. The chakra system is an ancient system explaining the energetic intricacies of being human. Each chakra has a name, a quality, a sound, an emotion and essence.

  1. Root chakra

    The root chakra has to do with our roots, like our birth story. The balance of this chakra has to do with our ability to trust and let go of fear, as well as, our physical health, and finances.

  2. Sacral chakra

    The sacral chakra has to do with our creativity and playfulness. The balance of this chakra determines our ability to have fun, receive pleasure, nurturing and enjoying relationships with self and others.

  3. Solar Plexus chakra

    The solar plexus has to do with our personal power. The balance of this chakra is determined by our self-esteem and ability to shed shame. It also has to do with our will-power, productivity, individualism, and strength.

  4. Heart chakra

    The heart chakra has to do with our ability to give and receive love. This center helps us learn to embrace all that life has to teach us more wholeheartedly and transform grief into gratitude, respect, and love.

  5. Throat chakra

    Throat chakra has to do with our communication, both listening and speaking. Human expression can take on more than just words. The balance of the throat chakra is determined by our ability to speak our truth both verbally and vibrationally.

  6. Third Eye chakra

    The third eye governs both our intuition and insight. This chakra is our gateway to envisioning and manifesting. The balance of this center is determined by our ability to trust our intuition, awareness of symbols and archetypes, as well as to receive insight.

  7. Crown chakra

    The crown chakra is the center of enlightenment. It is the connection to your divine self. This is our hub of truth and spirituality and knowing your divine essence. The balance of this chakra is determined by our ability to recognize a divine source within, letting go of attachments and distractions, and realizing our value and potential.

This is a very brief overview of the chakra system. As you practice meditation and yoga you may find yourself becoming aware of the energy currents in your body and your seven chakras. Yoga helps balance the chakras and bring our awareness to imbalances. The chakra system can be a helpful map that helps us understand the mind-body connections and the energetic intricacies.

Rachel Skinner